Find a State Coordinator

State coordinators are located across the U.S. and are available for in-person, e-mail or phone support regarding SM and related resources in your area. Some states have more than one state contact. Others don’t yet have one.

Treating your child can require the care of a qualified health care professional and SMA State Coordinators may be able to provide you with local recommendations based on their own experiences and feedback they have heard from other families dealing with SM.

If you are interested in becoming a State Contact in your area, please contact our Connections Coordinator to sign up or to learn more about the program.

The following is a complete list of SMA State Coordinators located in the United States, organized by state. Find International Selective Mutism coordinators here.

United States

Arizona

Dawn WaheedParadise Valleyazselectivemutism@gmail.com
Melinda TurnerPhoenix617turner@gmail.com

Arkansas

Teresa WhiteWatsonteresaw.smg@gmail.com

California

Stephanie CarterEl Cajonstephanie.carter@cox.net
Erin GlowLos Angeleserin.silvia@gmail.com
Michelle HallSF East Bay areahhwmiche@msn.com
Carrie Maria HigginsLong Beachcarriemariahiggins@gmail.com
Kevallyn PaskosSF East Bay areakevallyn@gmail.com

Colorado

Sheila LepkinEnglewoodsrlepkin@gmail.com
Katie PriceLittletonrockymountainslp@gmail.com

Connecticut

Heather LaidlawGrotonhsl166@yahoo.comm

Florida

Joleen FernaldTrinityjoleen@joleenfernald.com
Lisa KovacOrlandolmkoll@aol.com

Idaho

Julie MorganBoisesmgidaho@gmail.com

Illinois

Bryan BugayNorthfieldb-r-y-a-n@comcast.net
Johanna Kurtz-OsborneWoodstockjohannak63@hotmail.com
Erin RusmiChicagoerinrusmi@gmail.com
Bonnie ScalfPeoriabonnienkirk8897@sbcglobal.net
Kathy SlatteryArlington Heightskslattery@cntrmail.org

Indiana

Lana HarvesMcCordsvillelana_harves@yahoo.com

Iowa

Ann SeggermanWaverlyauctionbyann@yahoo.com

Kansas

Barbra BartzSalinabarbrabartz@yahoo.com
Michelle SmithValley Center/Park Centermichellesmg@cox.net

Kentucky

Joseph ConstantineRichmondjoseph.constantine@eku.edu

Maine

Annie DiVelloannie.divello@newenglandpediatricservices.com

Maryland

Sakina RezaEldersburgsakina74@hotmail.com
Kristie TrousdaleSilver Springskatrousdale@gmail.com

Massachusetts

Tom SongNaticksongtao32@hotmail.com
Batsheva SpiegelBrooklinebatsheva.spiegel@gmail.com
Kristen ThomsonWinthropkrstnthoms@gmail.com

Michigan

Aimee KotrbaPlymouthinformation@drkotrba.com
Kimberley MitchellHollandkimberleymitchell@charter.net
Katie RashJenisonickesk@mail.gvsu.edu

Minnesota

Emily HoffmanPlymouthsmadvocacy@gmail.com

Nebraska

Paula DejkaPapillionsmcnebraska@cox.net

New Hampshire

Annie DiVelloannie.divello@newenglandpediatricservices.com

New Jersey

Jun ReitmanAnnandalejun08837@yahoo.com
Annette RistoroBurlingtonannette20sing@gmail.com

New York

Talya BreaRochestertalyabrea@gmail.com
Haley CooperNew York Cityhcooper@childtherapynyc.com
Catharina KleuskensMerrickcatrijr@gmail.com
Ivy Moon-RumseyManhattan: East Side/Gramercy/East Village/Greenwich Villageivysmg@gmail.com
MaryAnn DeLuca-GreenlawBayportgenofly@aol.com
Pam NewmanSt. Jamesmartidon@aol.com

North Carolina

Ashlee ClevelandFayettevilleashlee.cleveland@yahoo.com
Joann McLucasHope Millsjomclucas@yahoo.com

Pennsylvania

Susan BowenJefferson Townshipsbowen@hnolaw.com
Brittany GlennPhiladelphiabrittaglenn@gmail.com
Evelyn KleinPhiladelphiaklein@lasalle.edu
Beth LevyJenkintownBethLevy66@gmail.com
Ivy Moon-RumseyState Collegeivysmg@gmail.com

Rhode Island

Kristen FullerProvidencekristendfuller@gmail.com
Rebecca LaptookProvidencerebecca_laptook@brown.edu
Todd PennoyerWarrentoddsgotta@live.com

South Carolina

Shari SafferMt. Pleasantsharijsaffer@yahoo.com

Texas

Jessica GonzalezEdinburgjesssoto22@yahoo.com
Liza TerrazasMcKinneyLTerrazas09@gmail.com

Vermont

Kristen ThomsonWinthrop, MAkrstnthoms@gmail.com

Virginia

Rosa DerricottMadison Heightsrosa.derricott@gmail.com
Debra GeorgeMidlothiandebrageorge87@yahoo.com

Washington

Rebecca KinnestrandRedmondrkinnestrand@gmail.com

Wisconsin

Beth KoehnMilwaukeevonkoenig@netzero.net

Find an International Coordinator

SMA has an International Coordinator who helps link up families, teachers and treating professionals across the world with the valuable information and resources that they need. Find United States Selective Mutism coordinators here.

In addition, the Selective Mutism Information and Research Association (SMira) is a UK-based, English language resource for selective mutism. In addition to referral information in the UK, they also have links to other groups worldwide that can provide referral information. SMira’s website is www.smira.org.uk. To contact SMira please email info@selectivemutism.co.uk.

Argentina

Fabiana BaracchiniFlorida, BsAsfbaracchini@psi.uba.ar

Australia

Rachel JohnsonQueenslandrachel@perennis.com.au

Canada

Alberta

Sheila EvansMorinvillesevansg@live.ca

British Columbia

Darilyn AlexanderSurrey, BCspawithdar@gmail.com

Ontario

Poling BorkBrock Universitypolingbork@hotmail.com

Quebec

Marie-France RenaudVaudreuil-Dorionmutismeselectifquebec@hotmail.ca

Germany

Anja StarkeDortmundanja.starke@tu-dortmund.de

Ireland

Bernadette FoxBelfastbernadettefox225@gmail.com

Israel

Meidar SharoniGivat Shmuelmeidars@gmail.com

Mexico

Karen FastagBosques de las Lomaskarenfastag@gmail.com