Find a State Coordinator

State coordinators are located across the U.S. and are available for in-person, e-mail or phone support regarding SM and related resources in your area. Some states have more than one state contact. Others don’t yet have one.

Treating your child can require the care of a qualified health care professional and SMA State Coordinators may be able to provide you with local recommendations based on their own experiences and feedback they have heard from other families dealing with SM.

If you are interested in becoming a State Contact in your area, please contact our Connections Coordinator to sign up or to learn more about the program.

The following is a complete list of SMA State Coordinators located in the United States, organized by state. Find International Selective Mutism coordinators here.

United States

Alabama

Melissa Shattuck Huntsville mshattuck80@gmail.com

Arizona

Jenny Foster Mesa jennyfoster3@hotmail.com
Melinda Turner Phoenix 617turner@gmail.com

Arkansas

Teresa White Watson teresaw.smg@gmail.com

California

Stephanie Carter El Cajon stephanie.carter@cox.net
Nancy Chan Los Altos clearlysolutions@gmail.com
Lina Conk Laguna Niguel linaconk@gmail.com
Erin Glow Los Angeles erin.silvia@gmail.com
Michelle Hall SF East Bay area hhwmiche@msn.com
Carrie Maria Higgins Long Beach carriemariahiggins@gmail.com
Kevallyn Paskos SF East Bay area kevallyn@gmail.com

Colorado

Sheila Lepkin Englewood srlepkin@gmail.com
Katie Price Littleton rockymountainslp@gmail.com

Connecticut

Heather Laidlaw Groton hsl166@yahoo.comm

Florida

Joleen Fernald Trinity joleen@joleenfernald.com
Lisa Kovac Orlando lmkoll@aol.com

Georgia

Carolyn Broner Rosewell c.broner@att.net
Colleen Sandick Atlanta colleen.sandick@gmail.com

Idaho

Julie Morgan Boise smgidaho@gmail.com

Illinois

Bryan Bugay Northfield b-r-y-a-n@comcast.net
Kathy Klein Lisle kathyklein@gmail.com
Johanna Kurtz-Osborne Woodstock johannak63@hotmail.com
Sitsofe Luh Nutsukpui Glen Carbon sitsoluh@yahoo.com
Erin Rusmi Chicago erinrusmi@gmail.com
Bonnie Scalf Peoria bonnienkirk8897@sbcglobal.net
Kathy Slattery Arlington Heights kslattery@cntrmail.org

Indiana

Lana Harves McCordsville lana_harves@yahoo.com
Hsiu-Ying Ransburg Carmel ransburgcounseling@gmail.com

Iowa

Ann Seggerman Waverly auctionbyann@yahoo.com

Kansas

Barbra Bartz Salina barbrabartz@yahoo.com
Michelle Smith Valley Center/Park Center michellesmg@cox.net

Kentucky

Joseph Constantine Richmond joseph.constantine@eku.edu

Maine

Annie DiVello annie.divello@newenglandpediatricservices.com

Maryland

Sakina Reza Eldersburg sakina74@hotmail.com
Kristie Trousdale Silver Springs katrousdale@gmail.com

Massachusetts

Tom Song Natick songtao32@hotmail.com
Batsheva Spiegel Brookline batsheva.spiegel@gmail.com
Kristen Thomson Winthrop krstnthoms@gmail.com

Michigan

Aimee Kotrba Plymouth information@drkotrba.com
Kimberley Mitchell Holland kimberleymitchell@charter.net
Katie Rash Jenison ickesk@mail.gvsu.edu

Minnesota

Emily Hoffman Plymouth smadvocacy@gmail.com

Nebraska

Paula Dejka Papillion smcnebraska@cox.net

New Hampshire

Annie DiVello annie.divello@newenglandpediatricservices.com

New Jersey

Jun Reitman Annandale jun08837@yahoo.com
Annette Ristoro Burlington annette20sing@gmail.com

New York

Talya Brea Rochester talyabrea@gmail.com
Haley Cooper New York City hcooper@childtherapynyc.com
Catharina Kleuskens Merrick catrijr@gmail.com
Ivy Moon-Rumsey Manhattan: East Side/Gramercy/East Village/Greenwich Village ivysmg@gmail.com
MaryAnn DeLuca-Greenlaw Bayport genofly@aol.com
Pam Newman St. James martidon@aol.com

North Carolina

Ashlee Cleveland Fayetteville ashlee.cleveland@yahoo.com
Joann McLucas Hope Mills jomclucas@yahoo.com

Oregon

Rachel Alston Milwaukie alston.rachel@yahoo.com

Pennsylvania

Susan Bowen Jefferson Township sbowen@hnolaw.com
Brittany Glenn Philadelphia brittaglenn@gmail.com
Evelyn Klein Philadelphia klein@lasalle.edu
Beth Levy Jenkintown BethLevy66@gmail.com
Ivy Moon-Rumsey State College ivysmg@gmail.com

Rhode Island

Kristen Fuller Providence kristendfuller@gmail.com
Rebecca Laptook Providence rebecca_laptook@brown.edu
Todd Pennoyer Warren toddsgotta@live.com

South Carolina

Shari Saffer Mt. Pleasant sharijsaffer@yahoo.com

Tennessee

Leslye Lane Memphis leslyelane05@gmail.com

Texas

Jessica Gonzalez Edinburg jesssoto22@yahoo.com
Liza Terrazas McKinney LTerrazas09@gmail.com
Nianhua Xu Conroe nxu9918@gmail.com

Vermont

Kristen Thomson Winthrop, MA krstnthoms@gmail.com

Virginia

Rosa Derricott Madison Heights rosa.derricott@gmail.com
Debra George Midlothian debrageorge87@yahoo.com

Washington

Rebecca Kinnestrand Redmond rkinnestrand@gmail.com

Wisconsin

Beth Koehn Milwaukee vonkoenig@netzero.net

Find an International Coordinator

SMA has an International Coordinator who helps link up families, teachers and treating professionals across the world with the valuable information and resources that they need. Find United States Selective Mutism coordinators here.

In addition, the Selective Mutism Information and Research Association (SMira) is a UK-based, English language resource for selective mutism. In addition to referral information in the UK, they also have links to other groups worldwide that can provide referral information. SMira’s website is www.smira.org.uk. To contact SMira please email info@selectivemutism.co.uk.

Argentina

Fabiana Baracchini Florida, BsAs fbaracchini@psi.uba.ar

Australia

Rachel Johnson Queensland rachel@perennis.com.au

Canada

Alberta

Sheila Evans Morinville sevansg@live.ca

British Columbia

Darilyn Alexander Surrey, BC spawithdar@gmail.com

Ontario

Poling Bork Brock University polingbork@hotmail.com

Quebec

Marie-France Renaud Vaudreuil-Dorion mutismeselectifquebec@hotmail.ca

Germany

Anja Starke Dortmund anja.starke@tu-dortmund.de

Ireland

Bernadette Fox Belfast bernadettefox225@gmail.com

Israel

Meidar Sharoni Givat Shmuel meidars@gmail.com

Mexico

Karen Fastag Bosques de las Lomas karenfastag@gmail.com