Find a State Coordinator

State coordinators are located across the U.S. and are available for in-person, e-mail or phone support regarding SM and related resources in your area. Some states have more than one state contact. Others don’t yet have one.

Treating your child can require the care of a qualified health care professional and SMA State Coordinators may be able to provide you with local recommendations based on their own experiences and feedback they have heard from other families dealing with SM.

If you are interested in becoming a State Contact in your area, please contact our Connections Coordinator to sign up or to learn more about the program.

The following is a complete list of SMA State Coordinators located in the United States, organized by state. Find International Selective Mutism coordinators here.

United States

Alabama

Jamie Kirby Tuscaloosa jamietkirby@gmail.com

Arizona

Jenny Foster Mesa jennyfoster3@hotmail.com

Arkansas

Teresa White Watson misstlw2007@yahoo.com

California

Nancy Chan Los Altos clearlysolutions@gmail.com
Lina Conk Laguna Niguel linaconk@gmail.com
Erin Glow Los Angeles erin@eringlow.com
Carrie Maria Higgins Long Beach carriemariahiggins@gmail.com
Ivy Moon Huntington Beach, Costa Mesa, Long Beach, and Newport ivymoon13@me.com
Loida Ravid Los Angeles ravidloida@gmail.com

Colorado

Sheila Lepkin Englewood srlepkin@gmail.com

Delaware

Ebru Nigro Newark kiraciebru@hotmail.com

Florida

Joleen Fernald Trinity joleen@joleenfernald.com
Evelyn Grossman Hollywood evianlerner@aol.com
Lisa Kovac Orlando lmkoll@aol.com

Georgia

Carolyn Broner Duluth c.broner@att.net
Colleen Sandick Atlanta colleen.sandick@gmail.com

Idaho

Mary Bossart Boise majimosa@gmail.com

Illinois

Bryan Bugay Northfield b-r-y-a-n@comcast.net
Johanna Kurtz-Osborne Woodstock jkolink17@gmail.com
Sitsofe Luh Nutsukpui Glen Carbon sitsoluh@yahoo.com
Kathy Slattery Arlington Heights kslattery@cntrmail.org

Indiana

Hsiu-Ying Ransburg Carmel ransburgcounseling@gmail.com

Kansas

Barbra Bartz Salina barbrabartz@yahoo.com
Michelle Smith Valley Center mmmsmith@cox.net

Kentucky

Bonnie Scalf Mayfield bonnienkirk8897@sbcglobal.net

Louisiana

Nick Alphonso Covington nickalphonsoSMA@yahoo.com

Maine

Annie DiVello Annie@AnnieDivello.com

Maryland

Sakina Reza Eldersburg sakina74@hotmail.com
Kristie Trousdale Silver Spring katrousdale@gmail.com

Massachusetts

Annie DiVello Annie@AnnieDivello.com
Jennifer Lemoine Athol j_fiffy@hotmail.com

Minnesota

Patsy Butterworth Rosemount patsy.butterworth@gmail.com
Emily Hoffman Plymouth smadvocacy@gmail.com
Kelly Melhorn Nowthen kelly_melhorn@yahoo.com

Missouri

Nicholas Miller St. Louis nickmillerstl@gmail.com
Liza Terrazas St. Peters (STL) LTerrazas09@gmail.com

New Hampshire

Annie DiVello Newmarket Annie@AnnieDivello.com

New Jersey

Jun Reitman Annandale jun08837@yahoo.com
Annette Ristoro Burlington annette20sing@gmail.com

New York

Haley Cooper New York City hcooper@childtherapynyc.com
Catharina Kleuskens Merrick catrijr@gmail.com
Ivy Moon New York City ivymoon13@me.com
Pam Newman St. James martidon@aol.com
Kathryn Triano Staten Island kathryntriano@gmail.com

Ohio

Gillian Kiel Chagrin Falls gilliankiel@gmail.com

Oregon

Rachel Alston Milwaukie alston.rachel@yahoo.com

Pennsylvania

Joseph Constantine California constantine@calu.edu
Brittany Glenn Gurung Chalfont brittaglenn@gmail.com
Beth Levy Huntingdon Valley BethLevy66@gmail.com

Rhode Island

Rebecca Laptook Providence becca.laptook@gmail.com

South Carolina

Shari Saffer Mt. Pleasant sharijsaffer@yahoo.com

Tennessee

Leslye Lane Memphis leslyelane05@gmail.com
Kristin Seiler Davis Brentwood kristin@wordofmouthca.com

Texas

Jessica Gonzalez Edinburg JessSoto22@yahoo.com
Nianhua Xu Conroe nxu9918@gmail.com

Virginia

Rosa Derricott Madison Heights rosa.derricott@gmail.com
Debra George Midlothian debrageorge87@yahoo.com

Find an International Coordinator

SMA has International Coordinators who help link up families, teachers and treating professionals across the world with the valuable information and resources that they need. Find United States Selective Mutism coordinators here.

In addition, the Selective Mutism Information and Research Association (SMira) is a UK-based, English language resource for selective mutism. In addition to referral information in the UK, they also have links to other groups worldwide that can provide referral information. SMira’s website is www.smira.org.uk. To contact SMira please email info@selectivemutism.co.uk.

Selective Mutism Association of China (中华选择性缄默症协会,SMAC) is a Chinese language resource for selective mutism. SMAC was founded by a group of overseas Chinese volunteers and now has members in mainland China as well as across the world. In addition to educational and referral information in China, SMAC’s website also has links to other groups worldwide that provide SM-related resources. SMAC’s website is www.selectivemutism.org.cn. To contact SMAC please email info@selectivemutism.org.cn or connect with WeChat (微信) ID: SMartVillage.

Argentina

Fabiana Baracchini Buenos Aires mutismoselectivo@gmail.com

Brazil

Elisa Maria Neiva de Lima Vieira Sorocaba – São Paulo elisaneivavieira@mutismoseletivobrasil.com.br

Canada

British Columbia

Darilyn Alexander Surrey, BC spawithdar@gmail.com

Manitoba

Yan Zhang Winnipeg zhangyan603@gmail.com

China, People’s Republic of

ShuQiong Chai ShenZhen, GuangDong smartamychina@yahoo.com
Jun Wang Annandale, NJ, US jun08837@yahoo.com

Germany

Sabine Laerum info@mutig-sprechen.com

Ireland

Bernadette Fox Belfast bernadettefox225@gmail.com

Israel

Meidar Sharoni Givat Shmuel meidars@gmail.com

Mexico

Karen Fastag Bosques de las Lomas karenfastag@gmail.com

Portugal

Maria João Silva Lisbon maria.silva@pin.com.pt

Switzerland

Sabine Laerum 8702 Zolliken info@mutig-sprechen.com